Veloster Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I need to replace the engine in my 2012 Veloster it’s a manual (non turbo), and it’s a VIN D 8th digit, but I’m seeing a LOT more engines listed VIN E (8th digit), but can’t seem to find out what the difference is and if the VIN E will still fit. The VIN E engines ive found are a bit cheaper and I don’t have much in the way of extra cash, so if I can use one of those it would be better.

·
weekend racer
7,244 Posts
what year are the E digits? any 2012-2017 non turbo engine will fit.

FWIW there are very little if any differences in the non turbo engines themselves... there may be small changes in sensors and pinouts but you can use your existing coils, sensors, etc.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
They range from 2012-2015ish. Some are from Hyundai accents that claim they fit the Veloster too. But with the difference in VIN codes I wasn’t sure (I’ve never done an engine swap before). Does transmission type not matter for the Veloster?

·
weekend racer
7,244 Posts
accent should fit no problem, there are minor differences in the mounts but again you can use the ones from your veloster. the transmission does not matter as you can use your existing stuff and bolt it onto the new one.

·
weekend racer
7,244 Posts
what happened to your engine?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Threw a rod. There was some kind of clog or bust in an oil filter that wasn’t letting the lubricant through. Shop said some of the Hyundai engines have similar issues frequently, but since I’ve changed my oil myself a few times, warranty and corporate denied the clam so I’m sol.
Probably didn’t help that my last job was out in bfe and I put 120mi/day just driving there and back. One day it sounded fine, next day I had a knock.

·
weekend racer
7,244 Posts
what kind of oil and filter were you using?

what were your miles and oil change intervals?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #9