Veloster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a way to override the reverse lockout on the manual trans. shifter? I haven't bought a Veloster yet but I think I'd be really annoyed if I had to deal with that every time I drive it.

·
Registered
155 Posts
This is a non existent problem you are trying to solve.
Reverse lockout is never felt if you're driving, if you do feel it it's because you are making a dumb mistake.

I tried just this week to accidentally throw it in reverse from 2nd (facepalm) and it wouldn't let me.
Be glad it is there.
In spirited driving even you will never notice it.

·
Registered
200 Posts
Because I've been driving a manual trans. car for 25 years and it will annoy me.
I've been driving a manual trans for 31 years and it's just something to get used to. No issues.

·
Registered
367 Posts
Because I've been driving a manual trans. car for 25 years and it will annoy me.
I've been driving a manual trans for 31 years and it's just something to get used to. No issues.
And there you have the difference between someone that doesn't know how to drive a manual and someone that does.

Like was said before, the reverse lockout is not an issue if you know how to row gears properly.

The GM "Skip Shift" that forces you to go from 1st to 4th is WAY more annoying.

·
weekend racer
6,462 Posts
this is the perfect example of the mindset of two people on different sides of the spectrum :)

i honestly never thought of the lockout being a problem. safer than sorry.

·
Registered
155 Posts
Couldn't agree more, but then again there are people who like to have abs delete on a daily driver.

But while we are on the subject I have read about a mod to delete the lockout once.
Have to dig deep on the veloster forums tho

·
weekend racer
6,462 Posts
i deleted the ABS from my kia rio, lol.

·
Registered
617 Posts