Veloster Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

Registered
2013 dual clutch automatic
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tl;dr - transmission needs replacing in my 2013 1.6L DCT (base automatic dual clutch, non-turbo, to be clear). Would a trans from a 2012 work as a replacement?

Hello all. Total newbie here. Been following these forums for ages but finally need to ask for help. BACK STORY: my 2013 needed a new quarter/rocker panel, bumper, a couple other body parts. I lucked out when a buddy of mine totaled his 2012 and got to keep it. The 2012 has no mechanical issues, just body damage on one side. I bought it off him, did all the body work on my 2013, and drove it 40 miles round-trip to get it checked out by a buddy who does paint. (No mechanical issues at this point). I take the 2013 home and let it sit for 4 more weeks til time comes to drive it to get painted. Long story short, I get a mile from home on the way to get it painted and the clutch goes out. I鈥檝e troubleshooted in every way possible and read hundreds of pages, talked to mechanics, all seem to think my transmission is no good. My question is - is the 2012 transmission even compatible with my 2013? I see a lot of 13-15 transmissions for sale but nothing indicates that 12-13 transmissions are the same.

Also, my 2013 has 158K miles; the 2012 scrapper I bought has 87K miles.
Any feedback would be greatly appreciated 馃檹馃徏

Registered
2013 Veloster Turbo with resonator and muffler delete
Did you get a transmission flush at all before that happened?? Our trans are not the best. I would check with Hyundai about the trans but I think the 2012 is DCT as well so I wouldn't see why not? sorry If I am not much help

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Did you get a transmission flush at all before that happened?? Our trans are not the best. I would check with Hyundai about the trans but I think the 2012 is DCT as well so I wouldn't see why not? sorry If I am not much help