Veloster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I realize this has probably been asked to death. However, I'm a newbie to both these forums and the whole modding scene so I'm not sure what mods actually yield the best HP increases and not just a loud noise. I have been doing some research into intakes and exhausts and I was suprised to find this video in youtube:

Apparently, this person paid $70 for a magnaflow muffler that improved both performance and noise output. Installation costs aside, if this can be done, then what's the point of installing the whole > $700 exhaust system?

I compare the sound made by that muffler to this Borla rear section exhaust:

And they sound pretty much alike. The Borla exhaust goes for $700, a 10x price compared to the magnaflow and they're pretty much the same thing, the magnaflow muffler is just using the stock pipes which shouldn't be that different to the ones in the Borla system. Now, maybe Magnaflow is not such a good brand? Well, the exact same muffler from Borla costs around $120 which is still way below the complete rear exhaust's price.

And then there's the whole cat-back system which goes for over $1000 and this is the kind that apparently yields actual HP improvements and not just the "Agressive noise".

Help me understand the difference, I'm not much of a car enthusiast :confused:

·
Registered
980 Posts
Well the biggest difference is the diameter of piping on the full exhaust. An after market muffler will increase noise and improve flow maybe a hair but a new system will increase flow all through out.

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
Noise does not equal Performance. The stock Muffler is design to keep the car Silent, And it does a good job of it.
If you want your car to Perform Better, Then you want your car to Flow better: Intake/Exhaust/Volume. Your Engine is a Big Pump,