Veloster Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all. First let me say, I'm new to the Veloster family. Just bought a 2013 Veloster Re:Mix for my son to take to college. It has the 1.6L GDI engine. Bought the car 2 weeks ago and I've been driving it everyday. Love it and plan to get a new one for myself (a Veloster N of course) soon as I can afford it. My son has never driven a manual so I've been teaching him how to drive it the past couple of weeks.

Here's the deal. The car has been driving like a dream and has handled well the abuse that a person who is first learning to drive a stick puts on a car. Of course, he's stalled it out quite a few times. Chosen wrong gears, missed gears, etc. Just the normal stuff people do when they're learning. I've continued to drive the car in between learning sessions and it has run and sounded great to me.

Let me provide a little timeline for context for the questions that are coming:
  • Monday (almost two weeks ago): purchased the car in Florida...drove it back to MS and it drove perfectly.
  • Friday: Changed the oil/oil filter. Owner's manual called for 5w20, but allowed 5w30 in hot climates. I used 5w30 bc we live in MS and it's hot as the devil's armpit! Figured the heavier weight would be better. Also discovered during the oil change that the filter on the car when we bought it was TINY...definitely not like the purolator filter that I bought at the auto parts store. However, the new purolator was supposedly equivalent OEM fit so I put it on there.
  • Saturday-Thursday: Car continued to drive like a dream.