Veloster Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Velotster 2012 DCT (non Turbo)
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a leaking brake line from corrosion, leaking from mid/rear section of the car. I intend to replace the rear lines myself. I've never done this before, but I have been studying the process, tools, and brake line layout on my car. I have to say there is a ton of information on brake hoses, and almost nothing on brake lines that I could find (except general cutting/bending/flaring).
From what i understand so far, after removing the splash shield, I’m going to disconnect the rear lines from the brake hoses to the ABS pump. (Rear Passenger line goes up behind the charcoal canister so that will have to be disconnected for access.)

Then use the old lines as a template for bending new lines. (thats over simplifying but my uncertainty is in the connections)
Planning on stainless steel lines and renting a flaring kit

questions;
-What size are the brake lines for the 2012 Veloster (non Turbo)? 3/16 or 1/4?
-Do the brake lines connecting to ABS pump need an adapter for a double flared line?
-Where should I disconnect first? at wheel or ABS pump?
-Do I need a special plug for ABS ports while line is off?

I’d appreciate any input, thank you

·
Registered
1,006 Posts
I must say that you are going to be embarking on a journey fraught with aggravation and little chance of success.

Just the issue of the reverse flare is a most difficult operation with plenty of frustration accompanying the trial and error.

Because the brake lines are steel, the difficulty of correctly bending them to yield a product that will precisely fit is only and usually relegated to machine computer bending.

That is why the correct brake line is available to purchase with a guaranteed proper fit.