1. Welcome to Veloster Forum: Hyundai Veloster / Veloster Turbo Forums – General discussion forum for Hyundai Veloster

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Oem backup camera problems

Oem backup camera problems

Hey guys i have a manual 2013 vt with the oem hatch handle back up camera. It wont turn on when i put it in reverse. The screen just stays on the radio. So today i had abit of time at work (im a mechanic) and i brought it in the garage. I printed out the wiring diagram and found that there are only 4 wires for the camera. Red orange blue and black/orange. I popped the hatch panel off and took out the radio. Theres power going to the camera plug and the grounds are good. I also checked the continuity for all 4 wires from the radio to the plug and its all good so no cut wires anywere. Now here is my problem. Could this be a camera problem or a headunit problem? Also how does the head unit or camera kno when the car is in reverse? Is there a switch near the shifter assembly that could b srewed up? Any input would b great and i tried a search on the forums but i havnt found n e thing with this type of carera problem. Hope to hear from u guys soon

2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Veloster
    Advertisements

I am not sure how the camera knows when the car is in reverse, I only know that that is the only time the camera shows up on the screen (okay, occasionally it stays on for a few seconds after putting it into drive but hasn't happened in long while -- maybe not since I got the new head unit?). Save yourself the time and energy and just take it in. It could be the head unit, it could be wiring, or it could be the camera.
    ​APRIL 2017 VOTM
    2012 Ironman Silver, Style and Tech, purchased 10-17-2011
    Born on date: 08-22-2011
    Hyundai USA recall/service bulletins by VIN: https://autoservice.hyundaiusa.com/campaignhome
    Join Google Fi get $20 credit: https://g.co/fi/r/JX91JH 6-15 GB data fixed $60/mo