Veloster Forum banner

Seafoam - delivery method

9K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Nav14carvan 
#1 ·
Hello,

I have read up on the thread about different people's opinions on what the best way to degunk the engine is... I chose the seafoam method.

The consensus seems to be that the best delivery method for seafoam to clean the engine is through the vacuum pipe. Seeing as I am not that experienced in engine plumbing, I have no idea which pipe is the vacuum pipe into which I need to suck the liquid. A photo would be greatly appreciated!

As for different delivery methods, some have suggested through the throttle body...from my understanding, this achieves the same thing, but instead of using liquid seafoam, you use the aerosol ... am I right?

And if you have any different opinions or suggestions, please don't be shy!

_________

2014 NAV, 33.000km

#5 · (Edited)
OK,..

TUNS you know thats not correct.
If you have done the operation witha particular product and pics results that would be one thing. To arbitrarily claim he doesnt know what hes talking about on its face is troll-ish.

Seafoam is the most popular engine solvent. Having said that, it is rather old technology, and is well suited for non GDI engines.
Te following is considered the best option for our GDI motors.
http://www.amazon.com/CRC-05319-Int...=1464107393&sr=1-1&keywords=crc+valve+cleaner

These options have some things one should think about.
From the other forum, those that are well informed will heartily recommend anything from CRC. Many dealerships of Hyundai will also recommend their CRC based valve service.

Here is what you need to consider. Your valves ARE filfthy. They look like burnt marshmellows on a stick. The cleaning will disturb this, and piecemeal remove the debris. This leaves residue. This residue may break off at a mis opportune time and contribute to LSPI type events.