NEWS
 

  1. Welcome to Veloster Forum: Hyundai Veloster / Veloster Turbo Forums General discussion forum for Hyundai Veloster

     
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By captainofiron

Thread: Real time mpg gauge info

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Plano,IL aka smallville
    Posts
    26

    Real time mpg gauge info

    Was wondering if anybody is using this in there v?

    Also can you post pictures of it in your car and also recommend a good brand

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Veloster
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    79
    Quote Originally Posted by Luffymonkeyd View Post
    Was wondering if anybody is using this in there v?

    Also can you post pictures of it in your car and also recommend a good brand
    I use ScanGauge II in all my cars. Attached a picture of the one in my V.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    29
    Quote Originally Posted by Yamamoto View Post
    I use ScanGauge II in all my cars. Attached a picture of the one in my V.
    Nice. Did you find the scangauge consistent with the mpg odometer of the V? I heard people say the V is more generous, so not very reliable.

  5. #4
    Senior Member derekjeterkid2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    370
    I cant find this anywhere on the forum but,
    I have a iphone 4, what is my best route (APP and hook up wire to the obd 2?? so I can monitor real time info on the iphone, help would be much appreciated!
    Marathon Blue _V
    M/T Style&Tech
    It's just a Hyundai...

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    79
    Quote Originally Posted by yakanism View Post
    Nice. Did you find the scangauge consistent with the mpg odometer of the V? I heard people say the V is more generous, so not very reliable.
    Honestly I'm not sure about that since I don't really pay attention to the one on the dash. Just to give you a heads up though if you want to plug one in the V, we have to modify (shave off a little bit of the opening, you will know what I mean when you take out the cover of the fuse-box) the fuse box cover to accommodate the rather large plug of the Scangauge. However it's hardly noticeable since the fuse-box is kinda hiding under the dash.
    By the way, where are you located? If you happen to be in Ontario, Scangauge II is on sale this month in PartSource for $149.99.
    Cheers
    Last edited by Yamamoto; 12-04-2011 at 12:50 PM.

  7. #6
    Senior Member oldsalt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Yorke Peninsula South Australia
    Posts
    299
    Quote Originally Posted by Yamamoto View Post
    I use ScanGauge II in all my cars. Attached a picture of the one in my V.
    I have a similar thing, Turbo Gauge.

    How did you position it on your dash?

    Is it stuck to your windscreen?

    Edit:

    Just been playing around with mine and installed it on the bottom of the gauges.

    Put bluetack on the back of the turbo/scan gauge and it sits there nice and secure stuck to the bottom bit of the gauge surround.

    The cable is hidden, runs behind the dash fascia along side the steering column and plugs into the back of the unit.

    using bluetack is cool as it doesn't leave any marks.

    Last edited by oldsalt; 01-06-2013 at 02:58 AM.
    My forum, if you are Ex or Current Australian ADF http://www.tri-service.org/

  8. #7
    Senior Member Boots Ylectric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Roselle IL
    Posts
    298
    Are these things capable of displaying boost on them? That would be sweet and I'd be sold.
    2013 Veloster Turbo - Boston Red - Matte Black Vinyl Graphics
    twitter.com/Boots_Ylectric
    Instagram - Boots_Ylectric
    Get high on rocks - adventuresinclimbing.org

  9. #8
    MTD
    MTD is offline
    Senior Member MTD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    ON, CAN
    Posts
    3,911
    It would prob work just like any other gauge and show boost if it was connected to the proper source.

    The torque app might show mpg.

    And if you have a Turbo V, it has a actual mpg readout already.
    '13 VT

  10. #9
    Senior Member captainofiron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Las Cruces
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by derekjeterkid2 View Post
    I cant find this anywhere on the forum but,
    I have a iphone 4, what is my best route (APP and hook up wire to the obd 2?? so I can monitor real time info on the iphone, help would be much appreciated!
    I have a Nokia N9 and I use OBDautodoctor via a bluetooth OBD2 adapter, it gives me real time sensor data.

    last time I checked it was linux only (deb file) but they may have updated and now have extended to other OSes
    97 Trans Am WS6, LT1 factory 4bolt , M6, FLP LTs, Custom 2in true duals, MSD ignition, Beehive Springs, 1.65 RRs
    68 Firebird 400, 400ci V8, 3.55 gears, M20 M4
    65 Impala SS 327ci V8, M20 M4 12 bolt 3.45 gears
    91 Jeep XJ 2 door. 4X4 NP 231 TC, AX15 M5, 4in lift
    13 Veloster Turbo, M6, stock

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Crystal River, FL
    Posts
    19
    I still use the OEM mpg gauge in the car. It is consistently 2.5 - 3.5 mpg overly optimistic from reality. I think that the real problem is not the gauge, but the speedometer. It is consistently 3-5 mph faster than reality, which I think means it is accumulating more miles than it should and therefore showing a higher mpg. I have been to two different dealerships and complained and they both said that the law allows a 5+/- mph difference and refused to adjust it. If it was accurate I'm sure the mpg gauge would be very close to accurate. I know a lot of people have complained about not getting good gas mileage, but I have hit 40 mpg on at least 4 occasions and my best was 46.6 on a trip to Georgia. I now have 20,500 miles and still loving it. (Yellow/Tech/manual).

  12. #11
    Senior Member Lee RideFar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Vancouver Canada
    Posts
    333
    What is the point of knowing this information realtime? Can the constant monitoring dramatically improve your driving to reduce gas consumption? Unless you are driving 50,000miles+ a year can this really save you alot of money? Are you tracking the data in spreadsheets for quantifiable analysis?

    Wouldn't being as gentle as possible on the gas be just as efficient?

  13. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Neustadt/Aisch, Germany
    Posts
    11
    It's not only the mpg you can read with this item. You can read many different informations and trouble-codes and erase them. I have the Turbogauge in my Camaro, because there is no build in computer and I'm going to buy one for the Veloster, because I love such gadges and a little more (and more accurate) information, as from the manufactor delivered :-)

  14. #13
    Senior Member captainofiron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Las Cruces
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by Lee RideFar View Post
    What is the point of knowing this information realtime? Can the constant monitoring dramatically improve your driving to reduce gas consumption? Unless you are driving 50,000miles+ a year can this really save you alot of money? Are you tracking the data in spreadsheets for quantifiable analysis?

    Wouldn't being as gentle as possible on the gas be just as efficient?
    I think the realtime info can help because it can help you determine which driving habits cause a drop in efficiency, stuff that some might say helps mileage could be hurting, and vice versa

    but other than that, the average in my mind would be better to track than realtime data
    Maverick likes this.
    97 Trans Am WS6, LT1 factory 4bolt , M6, FLP LTs, Custom 2in true duals, MSD ignition, Beehive Springs, 1.65 RRs
    68 Firebird 400, 400ci V8, 3.55 gears, M20 M4
    65 Impala SS 327ci V8, M20 M4 12 bolt 3.45 gears
    91 Jeep XJ 2 door. 4X4 NP 231 TC, AX15 M5, 4in lift
    13 Veloster Turbo, M6, stock

  15. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Prince George, BC
    Posts
    19
    I prefer the average method. If I want a real time snapshot, just hit reset and you have it from the stock gauge.

  16. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Veloster
    Advertisements
     

Similar Threads

  1. Gauge pods
    By trey in forum Hyundai Veloster Interior
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 09-07-2012, 12:16 AM
  2. OBD2 Instant MPG Gauge and Data Streams
    By Dezoris in forum Hyundai Veloster Media, Pictures and Videos
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 04:43 PM
  3. fuel economy for real!!!
    By velostermaniac in forum Hyundai Veloster General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-14-2011, 02:03 PM
  4. More Real Life pics
    By coriolis in forum Hyundai Veloster Media, Pictures and Videos
    Replies: 67
    Last Post: 10-09-2011, 03:05 PM
  5. Some real life pics
    By Galbi in forum Hyundai Veloster Media, Pictures and Videos
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 09:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2