NEWS

1. Welcome to Veloster Forum: Hyundai Veloster / Veloster Turbo Forums General discussion forum for Hyundai Veloster

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Like Tree11Likes

Thread: Worst ever in the snow.

Worst ever in the snow.

I drove my velostar for the first time in the snow tonight. I would of thought with front wheel drive the car would be okay. Its the worst car i ever driven in the snow. I was trying to leave my parents driveway and for at least an hour i was going nowhere. Why does the car put itself in neutral when a tire spins. If i wanted to burn the tires off then thats what i want it to do. Nope just when i think the car might make it , i get get a lil slip then the tranny goes into neutral again. Hears where it gets really weird, turn on the slippery road button and the car almost shuts off when you push the gas pedal. I've been driving in snow for 30 years and I've never seen a car do this. I don't know if its the dual tranny doing this but whatever it is, its not safe. Every car or truck i ever owned when u give it gas the tires turn. The lag in the tranny sucks when your trying to get going in the snow. 2 inches of snow kept me from moving. Finally after an hour i was able to back out in reverse only because the car stopped going into neutral when a tire slipped.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Veloster
    Advertisements

Do you have snow tires? Cuz the factory tires are garbage for winter.

I have a manual VT but with the traction control on I have no problems getting out of deep snow.

Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App

Im surprised your having issues being i just had mine in the snow for the first time and was surprised how well it did.
    Did you have the traction control on or off