1. Welcome to Veloster Forum: Hyundai Veloster / Veloster Turbo Forums – General discussion forum for Hyundai Veloster

+ Reply to Thread
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By DekeVader

Thread: Stock Audio options?

Stock Audio options?

Hey all,
    I'm brand new to owning a Veloster and New to the forums!

I bought a 2013 Veloster on Saturday and noticed almost immediately the speakers sound like two rocks rubbing together. They are horrible!!
    I'm on a budget but I'd like to replace them but needed some advice from the more experienced.

I'd like to keep the stock radio and replace the speakers and add an amp to drive them replacing the stock amp. I'm also not looking to install a sub+box or anything like that, I want to replace the speakers with whats in the car and do what I can to up the sound quality. I'll probably use some sound deading and foam bezels for each speaker. What I need to know is some opinions, options and suggestions on the setup I want to do and which amp would push this setup and make it sound good without going off the rails or destroy my budget. So here is the setup I'm looking at.

Dash 3.5': x1 Polk Audio DB351
    Front Doors 6.5': x2 Polk Audio DB6501's (Component speakers)
    Rear Doors 6.5': x2 Polk Audio DB651's
    Boot 8': x1 Polk Audio DB840
    Amplifier: Need some suggestions
    Crossover: Do I need one?
    Anything else I'm missing or should be considering?

That's what I'm thinking so far but I'm open any suggestions or opinions! Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks again!
    -D

2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Veloster
    Advertisements

Hey, Deke! Lots of options as far as sound systems. Polk is good. I'd probably replace speakers first and then see if the amplifier is pulling its weight before replacing it.

Where are you located?
    TSB's by model year: http://www.hyundaiproblems.com/tsbs/Veloster/
    Join Google Project Fi get $20 credit: https://g.co/fi/r/JX91JH