NEWS
 

  1. Welcome to Veloster Forum: Hyundai Veloster / Veloster Turbo Forums – General discussion forum for Hyundai Veloster

     
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Thread: Footwell LEDs...check!

  1. #1
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181

    Footwell LEDs...check!

    Finally got around to installing my footwell LEDs earlier today. Not completely finished, need to clean up my splices a little bit. Not all of my colors work correctly, probably a short somewhere. Also plan on putting a small strip in that black hole of a cubby we have in front of the shifter.



    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350792207.419626.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350792252.236556.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350792279.117722.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350792301.393294.jpg  

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Veloster
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Fullerton, Ca
    Posts
    48
    Looks great! Is the purple just a mix of blue and red?

    This is such an easy install, it seems weird that so many people are willing to pay $250 to the dealer instead of $20 on LED's and an hour of labor.

  4. #3
    Senior Member x_Diesel_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by TheBaker View Post
    Looks great! Is the purple just a mix of blue and red?

    This is such an easy install, it seems weird that so many people are willing to pay $250 to the dealer instead of $20 on LED's and an hour of labor.

    Was gonna say, probably that's why those are the colors you are seeing. Only your blue and red LEDs are working. So you get violet as well since it is a mix of those. Missing yellow really and maybe white if your set has it.

    But none the less, the blue looks like a good match to the OEM lighting inside he cabin.

    Were did you buy your set? How much? Where did you splice it in? Switches or "auto" on/off with ignition power?


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Autoguide
    -- "Move along, nothing to see here" --

  5. #4
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181
    Well I'm a low voltage electrician so I do stuff like this on the daily. It's actually a 150 color strip that I used with lighting module which uses a remote and IR. The lights can flash, strobe, fade into each other all those fun stuff. Everything I used a buddy of mine ordered off amazon for no more than $45. It's completely it's own circuit. Just ran a quad down to the underside of my seat and hooked up a 12v 7amp battery and voila! Lights.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free

  6. #5
    Senior Member x_Diesel_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by immattsaul View Post
    Well I'm a low voltage electrician so I do stuff like this on the daily. It's actually a 150 color strip that I used with lighting module which uses a remote and IR. The lights can flash, strobe, fade into each other all those fun stuff. Everything I used a buddy of mine ordered off amazon for no more than $45. It's completely it's own circuit. Just ran a quad down to the underside of my seat and hooked up a 12v 7amp battery and voila! Lights.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free
    Nice, but wait.. Hooked up to a brick battery? Why did you opt for that alternative?


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Autoguide
    -- "Move along, nothing to see here" --

  7. #6
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181
    Well a brick battery is readily available to me since I use them in alarm panels, but I've heard splicing into any wiring of the car could void some warranties so I opted out there. It was easy enough to just hook them up to its own power source. The module I used to divert power allows me to turn them on and off at will so I'd much rather use an independent power supply for them. Gonna put some more in today. Possibly a strip in the cubby and glove box. Any questions or comments are more than appreciated! Ask away guys.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free

  8. #7
    Member Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    67
    Looks awesome, great job!

    I have some old school cold cathode lights from another car way back. I'm going to toss those in right after i get the car

  9. #8
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181
    Thanks man, I appreciate that. Definitely throw them in there. It just adds a little bit of spice to the interior look at night.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    5
    Very nice looking!

  11. #10
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181
    Updated pictures of the white, red, green and blue. They fade through 44 colors I believe


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350859368.366553.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350859404.772350.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350859432.601656.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350860357.836023.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350860404.465300.jpg  

    Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350860431.012213.jpg   Footwell LEDs...check!-imageuploadedbyag-free1350860456.264922.jpg  

  12. #11
    Senior Member GreyGhost12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Northeastern NY
    Posts
    2,763
    I'd like to wire up some LEDs around the car for when the dome light is on. I'm certain we have CANBUS so wiring up the extra lighting isn't as simple as splicing into the dome light pin switch in the door jamb as it used to be so long ago...

    Any ideas how to wire them up to have them come on when any door is open?

  13. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Fullerton, Ca
    Posts
    48
    In my Mazda 3, I spliced them into my dome lights. Just used a tap in connector and spliced each side Together, then spliced that into the wire for my domelight, so whenever I open my door the footwells come on.

    what is canbus?

  14. #13
    Senior Member GreyGhost12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Northeastern NY
    Posts
    2,763
    ^^ It's a Controller Area Network system in a vehicle bus that will turn off the dome lights if you leave the doors open for a certain duration to save the battery as well as a lot of other stuff. So there are relays and micro-switches and such that must be tapped into for auxiliary lighting to work. You can't simply tap into the pin switch and have it work... As far as I know anyway. Perhaps I'm wrong?

  15. #14
    Senior Member x_Diesel_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by immattsaul View Post
    Well a brick battery is readily available to me since I use them in alarm panels, but I've heard splicing into any wiring of the car could void some warranties so I opted out there. It was easy enough to just hook them up to its own power source. The module I used to divert power allows me to turn them on and off at will so I'd much rather use an independent power supply for them. Gonna put some more in today. Possibly a strip in the cubby and glove box. Any questions or comments are more than appreciated! Ask away guys.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free
    Well, sure if your wiring got fried or if you started getting electrical issues they could try and blame it on a bad splice or crossed wires and deny warranty over such issues. So your argument is indeed valid.

    Now Im not sure if I would go that route just to avoid a possible "what if". Specially since the added cost of a brick battery ($25-$30) would almost match the cash spent for the lighting itself. But a novel approach nonetheless.

    Also, the finished look is awesome.


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Autoguide
    -- "Move along, nothing to see here" --

  16. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Fullerton, Ca
    Posts
    48
    My 3 does the same thing. They'll automatically shut off after a few minutes.

  17. #16
    Senior Member GreyGhost12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Northeastern NY
    Posts
    2,763
    Perhaps since LEDs take so little power it will be ok to wire to the door switch? I understand if you use normal incandescent lights the draw would be too much and cause issues with CANBUS. As I've said I don't know for sure and I don't want to goof anything up by wiring them directly to the door pin-switch. If anyone else knows how to get around this please post up as I'm very interesting in taking on such a project.

  18. #17
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181
    Well a brick for me is around $7 I get them wholesale =P. I wanted to keep them separate from any if the wiring as well because there's quite a lot of splices and less searching through the voltages of a bunch of random wires.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free

  19. #18
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181
    The strips I use need 12V DC. And need a quad ran to it seeing as there are 4 wires to each strip (blue-, red-, green-, black+) all the quads from the strips go to a central splice point all color to color with a feed from the splice point to the module. Power wire from module to battery. Good to go.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free

  20. #19
    Senior Member x_Diesel_x's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    1,159
    Yeah, that's something that bugs me a bit. Wanting to know where to split into without having to go thru that whole test and try each wire to see what is what.

    Anyone knows if there's an electrical wiring diagram for the V?..


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Autoguide
    -- "Move along, nothing to see here" --

  21. #20
    Senior Member immattsaul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    181
    Yeah I could easily search around and find a positive and negative to splice into, but I'm running a bunch of wires already so why not just run one for power and throw a battery on? Also if there's any problems with my lights in the future I have an easy circuit to work on. Just seemed like the best idea at the time for me.


    Sent from my iPhone using AG Free

  22. Remove Advertisements
    Hyundai Veloster
    Advertisements
     

Similar Threads

  1. How to install LEDs under dash?
    By Jan280 in forum Hyundai Veloster Interior
    Replies: 95
    Last Post: 08-05-2014, 12:52 PM
  2. The front leds
    By Velosterspain in forum Hyundai Veloster Exterior and Lighting
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-2012, 03:50 PM
  3. diode dynamic LEDs
    By flyingmunkey in forum Hyundai Veloster Interior
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-26-2012, 12:53 PM
  4. Traction control off..Check, Dirt road...Check
    By trey in forum Hyundai Veloster General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2011, 05:54 PM
  5. LEDs for headlights
    By UAV_PILOT in forum Hyundai Veloster Exterior and Lighting
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-19-2011, 11:53 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v4.1.2